Interview with Bryan Benattou: A College Student’s Perspective on Working at Just Scan It

The Just Scan It team is made up of seasoned entrepreneurs, tech gurus, and stand-out college students looking to grow and develop their knowledge in a business setting. These ambitious students agree that working in a start-up has greatly enhanced their success within their major(s) and has allowed them to be more productive and efficient. Their consistent achievements continue to further the development of Just Scan It.

Bryan Benattou joined Just Scan It a year ago as one of the first members during the development stage. He is currently a sophomore at Loyola Marymount University double majoring in Entrepreneurship with an emphasis on International Business and French.

Could you introduce yourself and how/when you became involved in Just Scan It.

My name is Bryan Benattou and I became involved in Just Scan It just over a year ago. I connected with founders Anuj Arora and Devin Klein through the LMU job search service, Lion Jobs. This service is highly underestimated; students can easily find a variety of jobs/internships on and off campus.

What is your title and role within Just Scan It?

My title is Marketing and Branding and with that I manage all Social Media as well as this blog. I also do sales and build marketing materials.

How has your work in Just Scan It influenced your growth as an individual and as a student?

Just Scan It has allowed me to be productive at all times. When I am not at school I am doing business or tackling other projects always trying to further my education. I have become obsessed with productivity and self-improvement. In any situation I always try to listen and learn, especially from my team members. The work experience from Just Scan It translates well into the classroom, where a heavy college workload becomes much less stressful.

How do you manage both school and work?

I have a very detailed schedule and constantly map out exactly what I need to do to be the most efficient and productive at all times. It’s not difficult balance everything as long as I keep my schedule and notes up to date.

What is your previous work experience? How does it compare to being a member of a start-up?

Always having an entrepreneurial spirit, I knew I wanted to either create my own work or collaborate with other like-minded individuals and make something revolutionary. At 16 I built a lifestyle brand with a good friend of mine called Keto Clothing, representing Californian culture (ketoclothing.com). We acquired several accounts across Southern California as well as in France and are still continuing the brand through college. I also have some experience in retail and restaurants but nothing compares to working at Keto and Just Scan It, where I am able to be involved in all of the mechanics of the business.

What are you looking to do with your degrees in Entrepreneurship and French?

A degree in Entrepreneurship will teach me everything I need to know about start-ups, business management, and effective communication. I will also be taking several accounting and finance classes to learn the language of business and be able to manage financials. This all-encompassing degree will leave me polished in a variety of fields, allowing me to further excel at Just Scan It.

My family is French and I am very immersed in the language and culture both in school and at home. I want to be able to do business internationally and work to bring Just Scan It to French-speaking countries.

What are your hobbies/interests outside of Just Scan It?

I grew up surfing every morning in San Diego and became very familiar with the surf industry. This ties in with my love for art including painting, drawing, ceramics, graphic design, photography, and film. Lately I have been reading and exercising often whether it be at the gym, yoga, or in the ocean.

Where do you see yourself and Just Scan it in 5 years?

Working full-time in Just Scan It hopefully as the Director of Marketing. I also want to be living in Los Angeles, Paris, or New York pursuing my love for French and Entrepreneurship. I have full faith that Just Scan It will grow on a massive scale and will be used globally within the next 5 years.

Leave a comment